93(和计数)普通洗发水的成分,他们知道引起接触性皮炎

英语
德语
西班牙语
法兰西
意大利语
葡萄牙语

你知道吗 甲醛 (即保留尸体的东西)通常在你的洗发水发现了什么?

或者你经常擦洗猫尿或生 酒精 你的头皮?

没有?

好吧,你来对地方了......。

绝大多数的洗发水都是 化学品瓶p.

这些化学物质会使洗发水泡沫,气味好,清洁和持续时间超过一品脱牛奶。

他们并不全是坏事。

不幸的是,他们并不都是好无论是。

在香水/化妆品的研究中,发现该成分的84%的人从未被测试,或对人类的毒性最小的测试。 这也许并不奇怪,在这样的地方差的测试,这些成分可导致人各种烦躁或过敏性反应。 这种情况是完全有洗发水一样的。

测试制度极差。

这些刺激性和过敏性反应,你从你的化妆品得到被称为接触性皮炎等我们几个人知道,我们甚至拥有它。 我花了几年和许多皮肤科医生的访问之前,我明白了,用我的皮肤发生。

在过敏的增长出现在免费的大幅上升,从食品,但你怎么样使用护肤品? 要了解您的皮肤上使用什么时候你有过敏症,湿疹,皮炎或银屑病是同样重要的是...

鲁思·霍尔罗伊德whatallergy.com

如果你遭受洗发水反应,你不知道为什么,你来对地方了。 我们列出了我们的洗发水,其中制造商知道引起接触性皮炎常见的90成分。

硫酸盐

十二烷基硫酸钠(SLS)是最严厉的 硫酸盐 在洗发水很常见。 这既是一个发泡剂和清洗剂在成千上万的化妆品中。 这是在清洁它通常用作发动机清洁剂那么好。 由于它在剥离油那么好,它从你的头发和皮肤剥离的天然油脂,是当今许多,很多化妆品中的主要皮肤刺激物之一。 还有的是相当多的记者谈到它,人们都比较了解这种添加剂。 制造商是明智的,这一点,已经看到了销售SLS免费洗发水的崛起。 所以你会经常看到用不同的名称标记SLS。 这些包括; 所谓的十二烷基硫酸钠,硫酸,十二烷基酯,钠盐,钠盐硫酸和十二烷基酯钠盐硫酸。

有月桂基醚硫酸钠(SLES又名/除其他事项外月桂基醚硫酸钠),它是一种廉价的替代SLS的衍生物。 它构成了相同的目的,SLS,作为发泡剂和清洁剂。 虽然普遍比SLES认为温和,适合敏感肌肤患者仍然是条头发和天然油的皮肤极其苛刻的清洁剂。 除了从我们skin.hair剥离的天然油脂,既SLS和SLES可以被吸收到皮肤。 该化学品已在大脑,心脏,肝脏等重要器官被发现。 不用了,谢谢…

还有另外两种衍生物具有较大的分子,大到不被吸收到皮肤,并再次被视为温和的替代SLS和SLES。 这些是月桂硫酸铵(ALS)及月桂醇硫酸铵(ALES)。 然而,他们都剥离的天然油脂的皮肤几乎相同的方式。

随着公众越来越意识到SLS / SLES的,厂家已经开始使用替代品。 一种这样的替代是钠肉豆蔻醇聚醚硫酸钠,这几乎是相同的SLES。 甚至有声称是不含硫酸盐的含有烯烃磺酸钠香波。 这是另一种起泡剂/清洁剂, 已被证明是如SLS本身作为烦躁。

另外你可能看到的是三乙醇胺十二烷基硫酸钠(常被称为TEA十二烷基硫酸钠)。 它几乎等同于SLS未经测试的同一水平,但 可能是因为SLS肠易.

这是任何难怪人们很难追踪产品标签? 这就是为什么我们在这里...

在洗发水来主要是两种形式。 在一种形式中,酒精会干出你的头发和头皮。 在另一种形式将有助于调理你的头发和头皮。 谈论混乱!

归类为短链醇醇会干出你的头发和头皮。 这些包括乙醇,乙醇,酒精SD,SD酒精40,酒精代纳,丙醇,丙醇, 丙二醇 和异丙醇。 个从这些醇如棕榈酸异丙酯衍生的化学品也可以刺激皮肤。

脂肪醇不会干你的头皮和更自然的来源,如椰子油或植物油的。 他们在许多保湿霜和调理发现,他们实际上滋润,而不是我们的皮肤。 它们包括月桂醇,鲸蜡醇,肉豆蔻醇,硬脂醇,鲸蜡硬脂醇,油醇山嵛醇。

有一个叫苯甲醇是应该被归类为脂肪醇酒精的另一种类型,但厂家已经找到创建它的另一合成方法。 制造的合成手段产生的醇,是非常刺激皮肤。 它应该是不错的名单上,但它的暗杀名单上!

甲基氯/甲基异(又名的Kathon CG)

甲基异 赢得了可疑的标题 年度接触变应原2013。 当与同样不能发音组合 甲基氯中,该化合物被称为GC的Kathon。 卡松CG引起了英国风暴2013用于引起的接触性皮炎的情况下的“流行病”。 它实际上启发了我写这篇博客,因为我是受害者之一! 这是在很多洗发水,面霜,和这样的名声不好,欧洲化妆品行业协会告诉其成员从皮肤去除产品MI化妆品中的防腐剂。 许多制造商已经承诺所有产品中删除这一点,直到他们这样做,头皮屑解构会看着他们像鹰。 这是一个必须避免!

椰油酰胺丙基甜菜碱

制成 椰子油, 椰油酰胺丙基甜菜碱 在洗发水的清洁和起泡成分。 这是一个著名的过敏原(无论是成分本身或者用来做配料的一种化合物),并夺得年度美国接触性皮炎协会变应原2004的可疑的荣誉。 这是非常艰难的时刻找到一个洗发水没有它。

香水

我们都爱香水,不是吗? 他们让我们闻到,感觉很好。 他们也接触性皮炎在我们许多人的最常见的原因中,并加入很多很多洗发水。 看来这样的耻辱,这种无谓的添加剂是造成我们的头皮伤害很大。 欧盟已经在那里引起的反应最常见的香水26必须列出一个指令:

  • 3 - 环己基甲醛
  • 戊肉桂醛
  • 茴香醇
  • 苯甲醇
  • 苯甲酸苄酯
  • 肉桂酸苄酯
  • 水杨酸苄酯
  • 苯基Methylpropional
  • 肉桂醛
  • 肉桂醇
  • 柠檬醛
  • 香茅醇
  • 香豆素
  • 丁子香酚
  • Evernia Furfuracea
  • Evernia Prunastri
  • 金合欢醇
  • 香叶醇
  • Hexylcinnamal
  • 羟基香茅
  • Hydroxyisohexyl
  • 异丁子香酚
  • 紫罗兰酮
  • 芳樟醇
  • 柠檬烯
  • 甲基2辛炔酸甲酯

欧盟名单,好,因为它是不远远不够,虽然。 有迹象表明,可引起接触性皮炎包括很多其它香料:

  • 阿尔法戊肉桂醇
  • 罗马甘菊(洋甘菊)
  • 秘鲁香脂(Myroxylon Pereirae)
  • 肉桂油
  • 洋甘菊(罗马甘菊)
  • 肉桂
  • 肉桂醇
  • 肉桂醛
  • 香茅蜡烛
  • 柠檬柠檬
  • 丁香
  • 乙烯Bassylate
  • 羟基香茅
  • 新铃兰醛
  • 橡苔绝对
  • 苯氧乙醇
  • 雅罗(蓍)

不要相信标签无香无味或过。 它只是意味着没有感知的气味,但厂家很可能添加香料化学物质来实现这一目标!

具淡斑淡印功效

具淡斑淡印功效,一个怪异的词发音塔尔 - 阿泰,是在许多不同的行业中使用的一组化学物质。 该化学品,一般来说,增塑剂,让材料的弹性,耐用,可锻铸财产。 它们也可以用来作为一些产品的香味。 你知道一个新的乙烯基浴帘的气味? 这是邻苯二甲酸酯。 你还会发现在木饰面,洗涤剂,粘合剂,塑料水暖管道,润滑剂,医疗用管和流体袋,溶剂,农药,医疗器械,建材,塑胶地板phthlates。 Woosh!

他们在许多化妆品产品中使用,他们是接触性皮炎的一些我们的原因(以及许多其他更广泛的健康危害)。

硅胶或石油润滑油

生产商加入 或石油产品以“滋润”你的头发和头皮。 他们给它那可爱的柔和光泽,我们所有的爱。 虽然这些都不是严格的接触过敏原或刺激,一些有机硅产品通常不是水,而是大衣你的头皮有一层油。 这可以防止你的皮肤呼吸,并保持汗水锁定。这可以干头皮,甚至煽动湿疹或牛皮癣。 有洗发水的几个不同的硅/石油:

  • 二甲基硅氧烷
  • 鲸蜡硬脂甲基硅氧烷
  • 十六聚二甲基硅氧烷
  • 环戊硅氧烷
  • 环二甲基硅氧烷
  • 聚二甲基硅氧烷
  • 聚二甲基硅氧烷
  • 二甲基硅氧烷共聚
  • 矿物油 (矿脂)
  • 聚甲基硅氧烷
  • 凡士林Liquidum
  • 苯基三甲
  • 硬脂酰基二甲基
  • 三甲基甲硅烷

我们要提醒你的任何人的存在。

乙二醇/聚乙二醇(PEG)

乙二醇, 更好地称为防冻我和你和Polethylene乙二醇(PEG)的添加剂,让你的洗发水的洁净度,质地,光泽和粘度我们从豪华美发产品的期望。 在另一面,这两个被称为在许多民间过敏原。

异丙Palminate

来源于棕榈油,异丙醇Palminate是可以干你的头皮保湿。 呃,这是如何运作?

椰油酰胺DEA

该油从椰子衍生的是,在许多洗发剂形成清洁剂的表面活性剂。 不幸的是它也是过敏原接触的一个非常严重的来源和在六月2012加利福尼亚州上市椰子酰胺为已知会导致癌症的化学物质。 哇!

月桂酰胺DEA

椰油酰胺DEA的主要成分是月桂酰胺DEA; 的成分,让你的洗发水厚厚的,稳定的泡沫。 这也是我们中的一些已知的刺激性。

羊毛脂

羊毛脂 是羊生产的蜡或脂肪,用于保护和防水羊毛。 它在许多洗发水和护发素中用于其保湿性能,并且在我们许多人中它可以防止头皮屑。 令人困惑的是,对于我们中的一些人来说,这是一种过敏原。 如果您对羊毛过敏,请避免这种情况,如果您患有脂溢性皮炎,那么该小鼠似乎是与该社区特别普遍的过敏原。 我们会警告您在任何我们审查的洗发水中存在。 所以你可以在购买之前作出有教养的决定。

甲醛/释放甲醛的防腐剂

甲醛 是欧盟已决定在化妆品“未必是安全的”著名的过敏原。 这是我见过的在比分上EWG皮肤深层化妆品的数据库中10唯一的成分之一。 这也许并不奇怪,但还是悍然,你会看到它在婴儿洗发水和香皂。 你不会看到它列为甲醛虽然。 它会在各种各样它们是释放甲醛的防腐剂的名称上市。

这些包括季铵盐15,二甲基 - 二甲基(DMDM)乙内酰脲,咪唑烷基脲(咪唑烷脲),重氮烷基脲,羟甲基甘氨酸钠及2溴2硝基丙烷1,3二醇(溴硝丙二醇)。 谁制造了这些名字?

丁基羟基甲苯(BHT)

BHT是在许多不同的产品,如石油,橡胶以及所使用的抗氧化剂 防腐液。 还有的是争议很大的关于这个防腐剂,不仅是因为它可引起接触性皮炎。 欧洲食品安全局已经标记它是已知的人体毒物或变应原。 这就是我们所需要知道的...

氯苯甘醚

这种肌肉松弛剂也是一些洗发水发现了防腐剂。 该添加剂主要的公认的副作用是过敏性接触灵敏度。 为什么在地球上,他们的肌肉松弛剂添加到洗发水?

维生素E醋酸酯

添加到许多洗发水的保湿性能,这种化学品本质上是维生素E.耶! 与醋酸混合。 我的天! 这真的会刺激你的头皮,并在许多“有机”洗发水流行。

山梨酸钾

防腐剂用于防止霉菌或酵母的生长。 你会看到它在许多护肤品和食品,其中最著名的可能是麦当劳的奶昔! 好吃! 不幸的是,有强有力的证据表明它可以在许多民间引起皮肤过敏。

乙醇胺

该Ethanaloamines在等清洁剂和润滑油的制造。 三乙醇胺(TEA),二乙醇胺(DEA),单乙醇胺(MEA)是最常见的乙醇胺3添加到您的洗发水。 这些化学物质给你的洗发水的一致性,并给予泡沫丰富的质感。 他们也被称为刺激一些人的皮肤。

乙二胺四乙酸四钠

一个奇怪的化学物质,使硬水软。 它在洗发水的原因是,它是一个肥皂或洗发水更难以让你在硬水中的清洁。 因此,这使得代理人的水更柔软,而你洗。 这也是在一些人的刺激物或过敏原,所以我们提醒你它的存在。 许多网站也报告说,它形成了一个更大的健康危害过,但我不是专家那里。

碘代丙炔基氨基甲酸丁

防腐剂原本用来保护漆和树林。 如今它在化妆品中发现,如洗发水。 毫不奇怪,使用的化学保护木材可引起接触性皮炎。

氢氧化钠

氢氧化钠 又名碱液又名苛性钠是在头屑洗发水中相对常见的成分。 它控制洗发水的ph值,防止它变得太酸。 它也很好的清洁排水沟,去除油漆,使橄榄变黑 一大堆 的其他用途。 在小批量它不应该是对大多数人来说,有些人反应,它的一个问题。 我们会警告你,如果它在你的洗发水这样你就可以做出一个明智的购买决定。

精油

最近的一些洗发水用精油来对抗头皮屑,而不是使用更传统的药膳方法。 虽然数据是有限的,一些精油如 茶树油 已知会引起接触性皮炎。 此外,一些油是高度香和许多含有芳樟醇,柠檬烯和其本身被称为接触性皮炎的原因,其他香料。 当数据可用时,我们会提醒这些香料的存在,当我们意识到它们。

对羟基苯甲酸酯类

其中最臭名昭著的化学品在我们的洗发水,在 对羟基苯甲酸酯 (是对羟基苯甲酸丙酯,对羟基苯甲酸甲酯,Butlyparaben,对羟基苯甲酸乙酯,异丁酯)是抗细菌剂添加到洗发剂,以防止霉菌生长。 这些都不是严格联系在所有的过敏原,但已发现扰乱我们的激素和癌组织已被发现。 产品大量被标为对羟基苯甲酸酯自由这些天,直到全部真相被发现,我们威尔·尚皮永他们的事业。

西曲氯铵

这种防腐剂作为表面活性剂偶联,有很多名字。 这也是一个已知的接触过敏原,所以我们会警告你,它的存在,无论幌子出现在哪里。

乙基己基

Ethylhexyglycerin是你在现代尼泊金免费洗发水看成分之一。 它服务,只要它的抗菌剂类似的目的。 不同于对羟基苯甲酸酯,那里不会破坏你的荷尔蒙。 然而,已经在三个独立的研究表明,引起接触性皮炎在一些个人。

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19780779

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12492553

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12492553

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12492553

所以这是在我们要找出来与我们审核所有的洗发水90称为接触过敏原。 这几乎是一场闹剧,一些制造商正在标记他们的产品时,有另一90否则就会被警告你,这样其他过敏原SLS / SLES免费。 欧盟至少迫使制造商列出其中一些,但它仍然是不够的。 我的生活是一场噩梦,直到​​我的教育我自己 - 我是过敏或许多这些化学物质的恼火。 我可能是个例外,但我没有那么特殊。 有很多像我一样在那里。 而据我们所知,我们监控您的洗发水接触过敏原提供最全面的服务在那里。

这使得我们需要在所有耻辱。

留言 44

  1. 弗吉尼亚·希汉 5年2015月XNUMX日
    • 克里斯·查利斯 11年2015月XNUMX日
      • 布莱尔 年7月2016日
        • 克里斯·查利斯 年7月2016日
        • 妈咪 28年2016月XNUMX日
          • 克里斯·查利斯 28年2016月XNUMX日
          • 特里格林 15年2017月XNUMX日
        • 凯特 26年2017月XNUMX号
          • 克里斯·查利斯 27年2017月XNUMX号
        • 损伤 年24月2017日
        • PandaBamboo 9年2017月XNUMX日
        • 玛丽 27年2017月XNUMX日
          • 克里斯·查利斯 27年2017月XNUMX日
      • 梅林达馅 7年2017月XNUMX号
    • 安娜·斯图尔特 23年2017月XNUMX日
  2. 珍妮特 16年 2015月XNUMX日
    • 克里斯·查利斯 16年 2015月XNUMX日
  3. 什么过敏? 16年 2015月XNUMX日
  4. CW女士 13
    • 克里斯·查利斯 18
    • 达·斯尼德 3年2016月XNUMX日
    • 玛丽·埃斯特普 9年 2016月XNUMX日
  5. 安·波诺马伦科 二零一八年二月
    • 克里斯·查利斯 二零一八年二月
  6. DMG 二零一八年二月
    • 克里斯·查利斯 二零一八年二月
  7. 辛迪 18年2016月XNUMX号
    • 克里斯·查利斯 18年2016月XNUMX号
  8. 妈咪 28年2016月XNUMX日
    • 克里斯·查利斯 28年2016月XNUMX日
  9. 亚历山德里亚·佩克 23年2016月XNUMX号
    • 克里斯·查利斯 23年2016月XNUMX号
  10. 王菲 September 28, 2016
    • 克里斯·查利斯 September 29, 2016
  11. 内莱·塔维尔 21年2017月XNUMX号
    • 克里斯·查利斯 21年2017月XNUMX号
  12. 坦雅·卢埃林 年14月2017日
  13. 查看翻译 五月13,2017
  14. 山姆 9年2017月XNUMX日
  15. 凯瑟琳 4年2017月XNUMX号
  16. 特里格林 15年2017月XNUMX日
  17. 米娅 26年2018月XNUMX日

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

93 (and counting) common shampoo ingredients they know cause contact dermatitis

English
简体中文
Francais
Deutsch
Italiano
日本語
Português
Español

Did you know formaldehyde (the stuff that preserves corpses) is commonly found in your shampoo?

Or you’re often scrubbing cat pee or raw alcohol on your scalp?

No?

Well, you’ve come to the right place….

The vast majority of shampoos are bottles of chemical soup.

These chemicals will make the shampoo foam, smell nice, clean and last longer than a pint of milk.

They aren’t all bad.

Unfortunately, they aren’t all good either.

In a study on perfumes/cosmetics, it was found that 84% of the ingredients had never been tested or have minimal testing for human toxicity. Perhaps not surprisingly with such poor testing in place, these ingredients can cause all sorts of irritable or allergic reactions in people. The situation is exactly the same with shampoos.

The testing regime is extremely poor.

These irritant and allergic reactions you get from your cosmetics are called Contact Dermatitis and so few of us know we even have it.  It took me years and numerous dermatologist visits before I understood what was happening with my skin.

The growth in allergies has seen a big rise in free from foods but what about the skincare products you use? It is just as important to understand what you use on your skin when you have allergies, eczema, dermatitis or psoriasis…

Ruth Holroyd whatallergy.com

If you suffer reactions to shampoos and you’re not sure why, you’ve come to the right place. We’ve listed over 90 ingredients commonly found in our shampoos which the manufacturers know cause contact dermatitis.

The Sulfates

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS) is the harshest of the sulfates commonly found in shampoos. It’s both a foaming agent and cleanser found in many thousands of cosmetics. It’s so good at cleaning it is commonly used as an engine cleaner. As it’s so good at stripping oils, it strips the natural oils from your hair and skin and is one of the primary skin irritants found in many, many cosmetics today. There’s been quite a bit press about it and people are relatively aware of this additive. The manufacturers are wise to this, have seen the rise in sales of SLS free shampoos. so you’ll often see SLS labeled under different names. These include; called Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate, Sulfuric acid, Monododecyl Ester, Sodium Salt, Sodium Salt Sulfuric Acid and Monododecyl Ester Sodium Salt Sulfuric Acid.

There is a derivative of Sodium Laureth Sulfate (aka SLES/Sodium Lauryl Ether Sulphate among other things) which is a cheap alternative to SLS. It forms the same purpose as SLS, acting as a foaming agent and cleanser. Although it is generally considered milder than SLES, for sensitive skin sufferers it is still an extremely harsh cleaner that strips the hair and skin of natural oils. As well as stripping the natural oils from our skin.hair, both SLS and SLES can be absorbed into the skin. The chemicals have been found in the brain, heart, liver and other vital organs. No thanks…

There are another two derivatives which have larger molecules, large enough to not be absorbed into the skin, and are seen as milder alternatives again to SLS And SLES. These are Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate (ALS) and Ammonium Laureth Sulfate (ALES). However, they both strip the skin of natural oils in much the same way.

As the public became more aware of SLS/SLES, manufacturers have started using alternatives.  One such alternative is Sodium Myreth Sulfate, which is virtually identical to SLES.  There are even shampoos that claim to be sulfate free which contain Olefin Sulfonate. This is another foamer/cleanser that has been shown to be as irritable as SLS itself.

Another you may see is Triethanolamine Lauryl Sulfate (often labeled as TEA Lauryl Sulfate). It’s virtually identical to SLS without the same level of testing but is likely to be as irritable as SLS.

Is it any wonder people struggle to keep track of product labeling?  That’s why we’re here…

Alcohols

Alcohols in shampoos come largely in two forms. In one form, the alcohol will dry out your hair and scalp. In another form it will serve to condition your hair and scalp. Talk about confusing!

Alcohols classified as Short-Chain Alcohols will dry out your hair and scalp. These include Ethyl Alcohol, Ethanol, SD Alcohol, SD Alcohol 40, Alcohol Denat, Propanol, Propyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol and Isopropyl Alcohol. Chemicals that are derived from these alcohols such as Isopropyl Palmitate can also irritate the skin.

Fatty alcohols won’t dry your scalp and are derived from much more natural sources such as coconut or vegetable oils. They are found in many moisturizing creams and conditioners as they actually moisturize rather than our skin. They include Lauryl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Myristyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Oleyl Alcohol and Behenyl Alcohol.

There is another type of alcohol called Benzyl Alcohol that ought to be classified as a fatty alcohol but the manufacturers have found another synthetic means of creating it. The synthetic means of manufacture creates an alcohol that is extremely irritating to the skin. It should be on the good list, but it’s on the hit list!

Methylchloroisothiazolinone/Methylisothiazolinone (aka Kathon CG)

Methylisothiazolinone won the dubious title of Contact Allergen of the Year in 2013.  When combined with the equally unpronounceable Methylchloroisothiazolinone, the compound is known as Kathon GC. Kathon CG caused a storm in the UK in 2013 for causing an “epidemic” of contact dermatitis cases. It actually inspired me to write this blog as I was one of the sufferers! It’s a preservative found in many shampoos, creams, and cosmetics with such ill repute that the European cosmetics trade association told its members to remove MI from skin products. A number of manufacturers have already promised to remove this from all products, and until they do, Dandruff Deconstructed will be watching them like a hawk. This is a must avoid!

Cocamidopropyl Betaine

Made from coconut oil, Cocamidopropyl Betaine is a cleansing and lathering ingredient in a shampoo. It is a renowned allergen (either the ingredient itself or one of the compounds used to make the ingredient) and has the dubious honor of winning The American Contact Dermatitis Society Allergen of the Year in 2004.  It’s extremely tough to find a shampoo without it at the moment.

Fragrances

We all love fragrances, don’t we? They make us smell and feel nice. They are also among the most common cause of contact dermatitis in many of us and are added to many many shampoos. It seems such a shame that such a needless additive is causing so much damage to our scalps. The EU has a directive where 26 of the most common fragrances that cause reactions must be listed:

  • 3-Cyclohexane Carboaldehyde
  • Amyl Cinnamal
  • Anisyl Alcohol
  • Benzyl Alcohol
  • Benzyl Benzoate
  • Benzyl Cinnamate
  • Benzyl Salicylate
  • Butylphenyl Methylpropional
  • Cinnamal
  • Cinnamyl Alcohol
  • Citral
  • Citronellol
  • Coumarin
  • Eugenol
  • Evernia Furfuracea
  • Evernia Prunastri
  • Farnesol
  • Geraniol
  • Hexylcinnamal
  • Hydroxycitronellal
  • Hydroxyisohexyl
  • Isoeugenol
  • Isomethyl Ionone
  • Linalool
  • Limonene
  • Methyl-2-Octynoate

The EU list, good as it is, doesn’t go far enough though.  There are many other fragrances that can cause contact dermatitis including:

  • Alpha Amyl Cinnamic Alcohol
  • Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile)
  • Balsam of Peru (Myroxylon Pereirae)
  • Cassia Oil
  • Chamomile (Anthemis Nobilis)
  • Cinnamon
  • Cinnamic Alcohol
  • Cinnamic Aldehyde
  • Citronella Candles
  • Cloves
  • Ethylene Bassylate
  • Hydroxycitronellal
  • Lyral
  • Oak moss absolute
  • Phenoxyethanol
  • Yarrow (Achillea Millefolium)

Don’t trust the labels Fragrance Free or Unscented too. It just means there is no perceptible odour, but the manufacturers may well have added fragrance chemicals to achieve this!

Phthalates

Phthalates, a weird looking word pronounced thal-ates, is a group of chemicals that are used in many different industries. The chemicals are, broadly speaking, plasticisers that give materials an elastic, durable, malleable property. They are also used as a fragrance in some products. Do you know the smell of a new vinyl shower curtain? That’s phthalates. You’ll also find phthlates in wood finishes, detergents, adhesives, plastic plumbing pipes, lubricants, medical tubing and fluid bags, solvents, insecticides, medical devices, building materials, and vinyl flooring.   Woosh!

They used in many cosmetic products and they are a cause of contact dermatitis in some of us (as well as a number of other wider health hazards).

Silicone or Petroleum Oils

Manufacturers add silicone or petroleum products to “moisturize” your hair and scalp. They give it that lovely soft sheen that we all love. Although these aren’t strictly contact allergens or irritants, some silicone products typically aren’t water based and instead coat your scalp with a layer of oil. This prevents your skin from breathing and keeps sweat locked in. This can dry the scalp or even instigate eczema or psoriasis. There are a few different silicone/petroleum oils in shampoos:

  • Amodimethicone
  • Cetearyl Methicone
  • Cetyl Dimethicone
  • Cyclopentasiloxane
  • Cyclomethicone
  • Dimethicone
  • Dimethiconol
  • Dimethicone Copolyol
  • Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum)
  • Methicone
  • Petrolatum Liquidum
  • Phenyl Trimethicone
  • Stearyl Dimethicone
  • Trimethylsilylamodimethicone

We’ll warn you of the presence of any of them.

Ethylene Glycol/Polyethylene Glycol (PEG)

Ethylene Glycol, better known as anti-freeze to me and you, and Polethylene Glycol (PEG) are additives that give your shampoo the cleanliness, texture, sheen and viscosity we expect from luxurious hair products. On the flip side, both are known allergens in many folk.

Isopropyl Palminate

Derived from palm oil, Isopropyl Palminate is a moisturizer that can dry your scalp. Erm, how does that work exactly?

Cocamide DEA

This oil derived from coconuts is a surfactant that forms a cleansing agent in many shampoos.  Unfortunately it’s also a pretty severe source of contact allergens and in June 2012 the State of California listed Cocamide DEA as a chemical known to cause cancer. Wow!

Lauramide DEA

The main component of Cocamide DEA is Lauramide DEA; an ingredient that gives your shampoo a thick, stable foam. It is also a known irritant for some of us.

Lanolin

Lanolin is a wax or fat produced by sheep to protect and waterproof their wool. It’s used in many shampoos and conditioners for its moisturizing properties and in many of us it prevents dandruff. Confusingly though, for some of us it is an allergen. Avoid this if you’re allergic to wool, and be careful if you have seborrheic dermatitis as it seems to be a particularly prevalent allergen with that community. We’ll warn you of its presence in any of the shampoos we review.  So you can make an educated decision before buying.

Formaldehyde/Formaldehyde Releasing Preservatives

Formaldehyde is a renowned allergen which the EU has determined “may not be safe” in cosmetics. It’s one of the only ingredients I’ve seen score a 10 on the EWG Skin Deep Cosmetic’s Database. Perhaps not surprisingly, but still outrageously, you’ll see it in baby shampoos and soaps. You won’t see it listed as Formaldehyde though. It’ll be listed under a wide variety of names which are preservatives that release formaldehyde.

These include Quaternium-15, Dimethyl-Dimethyl (DMDM) Hydantoin, Imidazolidinyl Urea (Imidurea), Diazolidinyl Urea, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate and 2-Bromo-2-Nitropropane-1,3-Diol (bronopol). Who made up these names?

Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT)

BHT is an antioxidant used in a number of diverse products such as petroleum, rubber and embalming fluid.  There’s been a great deal of controversy about this preservative, not least because it can cause contact dermatitis. The European Food Safety Authority has labeled it a known human toxicant or allergen. That’s all we needed to know…

Chlorphenesin

This muscle relaxant is also a preservative found in some shampoos. The major recognized side effect of this additive is allergic contact sensitivity. Why on earth do they add muscle relaxant to shampoos?

Tocopheryl Acetate

Added to many shampoos for its moisturizing properties, this chemical is essentially Vitamin E. Yay! Mixed with Acetic Acid. Nay! This can really irritate your scalp and is prevalent in my “organic” shampoos.

Potassium Sorbate

A preservative used to prevent mold or yeast growth.  You’ll see it in many skin products and foods, the most famous of which is probably McDonald’s Milk Shakes! Yummy!  Unfortunately, there is strong evidence that it can cause skin allergies on many folk.

The Ethanolamines

The Ethanaloamines are used in the manufacture of detergents and lubricants among others.  Triethanolamine (TEA), Diethanolamine (DEA), Monoethanolamine (MEA) are 3 of the most common Ethanolamines added to your shampoos. These chemicals give your shampoo its consistency and give the lather a rich texture. They are also known to irritate the skin of some people.

Tetrasodium EDTA

A strange chemical that makes hard water soft. The reason it’s in shampoos is that it’s much more difficult for a soap or shampoo to get you clean in hard water. So this agent makes the water softer while you’re washing. It’s also an irritant or allergen in some people, so we’re warning you of its presence. Many sites are reporting that it forms a far greater health hazard too, but I’m not the expert there.

Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate

A preservative originally used to preserve paint and woods. Nowadays it’s found in cosmetics such as shampoos. Not surprisingly, a chemical used to preserve wood can cause contact dermatitis.

Sodium Hydroxide

Sodium Hydroxide aka Lye aka caustic soda is a relatively common ingredient in dandruff shampoos.  It controls the ph level of the shampoo, preventing it from becoming too acidic.  It’s also good at cleaning drains, removing paint, blackening olives and a whole host of other uses.  In small quantities it shouldn’t be a problem for most people, however, some people do react to it.  We’ll warn you if it’s in your shampoo so you can make an educated purchase decision.

Essential Oils

A number of recent shampoos use essential oils to combat dandruff rather than using a more traditional medicated approach.  Although data is limited, some of these essential oils e.g. Tea Tree oil are known to cause contact dermatitis.  In addition, some of the oils are highly fragrant and many contain linalool, limonene and other fragrances which themselves are known causes of contact dermatitis.   Where the data is available, we will warn of the presence of these fragrances when we are aware of them.

The Parabens

One of the most notorious chemicals in our shampoos, the Parabens (be that Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Butlyparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben) are anti-bacterial agents added to shampoos to prevent the growth of mold. These aren’t strictly contact allergens at all but have been found to disrupt our hormones and have been found in cancerous tissues. Plenty of products are labeled paraben free these days and we will champion their cause until the full truth is found.

Cetrimonium Chloride

This preservative couples as a surfactant and has numerous names.  It’s also a known contact allergen so we’ll warn you about its presence, whatever guise it appears in.

Ethylhexylglycerin

Ethylhexyglycerin is one of the ingredients you’ll see in modern paraben free shampoos.  It serves a similar purpose in so far as its an anti-bacterial agent.  Unlike parabens, there it will not disrupt your hormones.  However, it has been shown in three separate studies to cause contact dermatitis in some individuals.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19780779

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12492553

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12492553

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12492553

So that’s over 90 known contact allergens we’re looking out for with all shampoos we review. It’s almost a farce that some manufacturers are now flagging their product as SLS/SLES free when there are another 90 or so other allergens they could be warning you about. The EU is at least forcing manufacturers to list a number of these, but it’s still not enough. My life was a nightmare until I educated myself – I was allergic or irritated by so many of these chemicals. I may be an exception but I’m not that exceptional. There are plenty like me out there. And as far as we know, we provide the most comprehensive service out there for monitoring your shampoos for contact allergens.

It’s such a shame that we’re needed at all.

Comments 41

  1. Virginia Sheehan June 5, 2015
    • Chris Challis June 11, 2015
      • Blair April 7, 2016
        • Chris Challis April 7, 2016
        • Marmee June 28, 2016
          • Chris Challis June 28, 2016
        • kate March 26, 2017
          • Chris Challis March 27, 2017
        • mar April 24, 2017
        • PandaBamboo June 9, 2017
        • mary June 27, 2017
          • Chris Challis June 27, 2017
      • melinda fillingim July 7, 2017
    • Anna Stewart June 23, 2017
  2. Janet November 16, 2015
    • Chris Challis November 16, 2015
  3. What Allergy? November 16, 2015
  4. Ms. CW December 13, 2015
    • Chris Challis December 18, 2015
  5. Debi Seligmann December 17, 2015
    • Darla Sneed June 3, 2016
    • Mary Estep August 9, 2016
  6. Ann Ponomarenko February 21, 2016
    • Chris Challis February 24, 2016
  7. dmg February 26, 2016
    • Chris Challis February 29, 2016
  8. Cindy March 18, 2016
    • Chris Challis March 18, 2016
  9. Marmee June 28, 2016
    • Chris Challis June 28, 2016
  10. Alexandria Peck July 23, 2016
    • Chris Challis July 23, 2016
  11. Faye September 28, 2016
    • Chris Challis September 29, 2016
  12. Nele Taevere March 21, 2017
    • Chris Challis March 21, 2017
  13. Tonya Llewellyn April 14, 2017
  14. Susan S May 13, 2017
  15. Sam June 9, 2017
  16. catherine July 4, 2017

Leave a Reply